The Number 1 Question Bookworms Hate

“What do you do in your spare time?”

“Read.”

“Oh, that’s cool. What’s your favorite book?”

I hate this question. That may seem odd seeing as I’m an avid bookworm, but how could an avid bookworm who has read thousands of wonderful books pick just one as a favorite? They can’t.

two books and a question mark

Unfortunately, non-bookworms usually do not understand this concept. My usual answer of “I’ve read so many wonderful books that I couldn’t pick a favorite,” sometimes gets pushed aside with a “Well, can’t you just pick one?” Yeah, riiiiight. At this point I usually give my stock answer of The Lord Of The Rings as my favorite book series to satisfy them.

I suppose it’s not their fault; they just don’t understand that I’ve traveled through worlds unseen, heard the deepest thoughts of the most intriguing characters, and have lived a thousand stories. Then a non-bookworm comes up and asks me to pick one of these books for a favorite.

I don’t think so.

Books

My list of favorite books is infinitely long (though not as long as my “to be read” list). I suppose that the best answers that I can ever come up with are my current favorite reads. These include Jackaby by William Ritter and The Paper Magician by Charlie N. Holmberg (because I obviously can’t pick just one). What are your current favorite reads? Tell me in the comments below, on Facebook, or on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

