Are You Hiding What You’re Reading? Don’t!

I was at a job interview when my interviewer asked me what book I had read recently. I was more than tempted to say War And Peace or some equally thick classic. Instead, I answered honestly and told her about a YA novel I absolutely adored. It wasn’t until after the interview that I realized it probably wasn’t the best idea to blab about how this book was a cross between Doctor Who and Sherlock Holmes. All that did was show how much of a geek I was rather than show how qualified I was for the position.

I didn’t get the job.

Hiding what you are reading

I highly doubt that this result was because my choice in novels weren’t the literary greats, but I’m sure many bookworms have been in a position like this before. Someone asks what you’ve been reading, and you hesitate to answer because you fear your choice in books will make you appear nerdy, juvenile, or something else entirely.

It’s days like these that I want to add a little Moby Dick to my diet. P.J. O’Rourke once said “Always read something that will make you look good if you die in the middle of it.” Though this quote is humorous, it does hold some truth about how we fear to be judged.

So now I circle around to the point of this post. I encourage all bookworms out there to read what you love and be proud of it. I’d take YA novels over War And Peace any day. Though I do enjoy reading classics sometimes, I also love a wide variety of genres. My philosophy is to read the books that you enjoy and that make you happy. When you really think about it, all books, even children’s picture books, can have themes, characters, stories, and language that are just as poignant, deep, and fascinating as those in classic novels. All books have something to give.

So now it is your chance to let it out. Be brave and tell us about the books that you try to hide, but absolutely love. I for one have a penchant for YA fairy tale retellings. Share some of your favorite (and formerly secret) reads in the comments below, on Facebook, or on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

