Me vs. Ebooks

Confession: I have purchased ebooks before *children scream, lovers cry, poets dream.* Yes, it is true. Me, a bookworm extraordinaire, has succumbed to the digital craze that is ebooks. However, despite my failings, I am still a huge supporter of physical books. I only purchase ebooks if they are free and unavailable at my library, but otherwise, nothing surpasses holding a real book in hand complete with a cover, pages, dust jacket, etc. Real books are better than ebooks. Even though this argument is an old, overwrought one, I am going to launch it again with my own personal preferences to paper books, which include the following:

books vs ebooks

  • That new book smell. A tablet doesn’t smell like anything in particular, while a real book holds the fragrance of ink, paper, and happiness.
  • Your favorite author cannot sign a copy of your ebook, at least not yet. Paper books, however, can carry a personal message from the creator of that story.
  • I love nothing more that walking into a bookstore (or library) and just relishing the feeling of being surrounding by hundreds of wonderful books.
  • Who doesn’t love having rows upon rows of books filling your shelf? Granted I am running out of space for all of my books (numbering 300+), but that is a problem I rather enjoy having.
  • If you get angry about a plot twist, character death, etc., then you can throw the book across the room and it will come out of the encounter unscathed (well, with a few bent pages here and there). However, if you get angry at an ebook, then you will ruin a very expensive piece of equipment when expressing your frustration at the author.
  • Who doesn’t love collecting fun, wacky, pretty, unique bookmarks? You can’t do that with ebooks.
  • And last, but certainly not least, the battery issue. A paper book isn’t going to run out of charge during an epic climax. Paper books are dependable, while ebooks can stop in the middle of a

So now you know why I will always prefer paper book, though my reasons may mostly be due to the fact that I don’t own a tablet. However, I think that I will always choose paper books until the world goes completely digital. Tell us why you love physical books in the comments below, on Facebook, or on Twitter.

One thought on “Me vs. Ebooks

Leave a Reply

