Book Review: The Echoing By Jessica Blackburn

For a story about getting through hard times, finding one’s purpose, and experiencing immediately effective karma, try The Echoing by Jessica Blackburn which was published by Cedar Fort Publishing. Though I would have liked to see more conflict in this story, I loved the concept of Rylee having the power to deliver justice. I also liked the theme of everyone having a destiny to fulfill in their lives.

“I have the ability to control a person’s luck. Depending on how they treat me, they can immediately receive a natural consequence. It’s not ME that rewards them or punishes them, but THROUGH me, life creates immediate justice for their actions, like an echo.”

The Echoing via Cedar Fort
Image via Cedar Fort Publishing

Summary

Rylee always felt like she was meant for a greater purpose, but she didn’t know what that purpose was until she met a mysterious old woman in the woods. Now Rylee can deliver immediately effective karma, giving out justice to those who are kind and unkind to her. But Rylee soon realizes that she cannot control everything with her gift, and that there is someone who wants to use her power for his own, and he will do everything he can to get it, including harming those she loves.

“Every soul on this Earth has been born with a specific purpose. We have all been given gifts. Some are fortunate enough to discover the powers in themselves and find access to these abilities,”

Review—3.5 Stars

I received a digital copy of The Echoing from Cedar Fort Publishing in exchange for my honest review.

Overall, I enjoyed this book and felt it had a unique concept with the power of delivering immediate justice. I liked the theme of how we all have a purpose in our lives and gifts of our own. I also liked how Rylee’s character was far from perfect, and how her sorrows and trials defined and changed her. She also had deep, contemplative thoughts that I enjoyed hearing.  Another strong point to this book was its descriptions and style; they were entertaining, and at times, poetic.

“Search out the sunlight in everything, Rylee. There will always be moments of greatness in life that make all the bad worth it.”

Though I liked the story, I did feel that it could have used some more complexity and conflict. There was certainly conflict throughout, but there were many places where I felt more of it could have developed, which would have made the story more entertaining. However, the climax to the story was excellent. It surprised me in more ways than one, and it also touched me.

To see more reviews of The Echoing, check it out on Goodreads, Amazon, or its Cedar Fort blog tour page.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Echoing By Jessica Blackburn

  1. Thank you SO MUCH for your honest review, Abby! I really appreciate you taking the time to read my book and am grateful for the sweet things you said about it! ❤️❤️❤️

    Like

Leave a Reply

