Book Review: Garden Of The Gods By Stephen J. Stirling

I love it when I find an epic, vivid story that keeps me turning pages as the suspense and action continue to build. One such story is Garden Of The Gods by Stephen J. Stirling published by Cedar Fort Publishing. In this incredible adventure, mythology and reality collide when an ancient Native American God, the bear of the underworld, defends its people.

garden-of-the-gods-blog-tour-image-via-cedar-fort
Image via Cedar Fort Publishing

“Let no man violate the sanctity of this cavern, or the people of this canyon—or they will face the vengeance of the Nyah-Gwaheh.”

Summary

Matt Hayden specializes in live animal capture, so he does not expect to be trapped in a land war between a mining company and a Native American tribe when he comes to Vega Towachi. The miners have entered the Tonowa’s sacred canyon where their God dwells, a giant, armored, bear-like creature called Nya-Gwaheh. Matt is a little skeptical about the existence of this beast, but he soon learns that Nya-Gwaheh is alive and well. And angry.

“The Garden of the Gods was a paradise that could not be seen with the naked eye. Its treasures were riches and beauties of the heart and soul. Perhaps that is what the Old Ones lost.”

Review—4.5 Stars

I received a digital copy of Garden Of The Gods from Cedar Fort Publishing in exchange for my honest review.

This is a fantastic read filled with action, mythology, and a renewal of lost faith. From the very beginning, Stirling made this book intriguing, building conflict upon conflict and bringing the reader into the adventure with excellent description. I couldn’t put it down this unique, intense story, and with each page, I loved it more and more.

“I don’t know if I have a pure heart, but I know I can’t walk away today without trying to prove to myself that I do. Some things can be snatched away from us by evil and godless men. And we may have lost those things. But some things can never be taken away.”

In my opinion, the only downfall to this book was the dinosaurs. They seemed to distract from the cool Native American mysticism, but other readers might be fine with this. Though some of the action scenes ran on a little long, overall they were intense and detailed in such a way that I really saw what was happening. This book unveiled many interesting layers to its plots and it was very exciting. I highly recommend it.

To see more reviews of Garden Of The Gods, check it out on Goodreads, Amazon, or its Cedar Fort blog tour page.

Leave a Reply

