New Year’s Goals For Writers

I love New Year’s Eve because I enjoy new beginnings and the opportunity to write down goals. First, I turn my journal back to last New Year’s Eve to see what goals I did and didn’t accomplish, then I go to a fresh new page so I can write some new goals. I always have plenty of writing goals every year, and here are a few you may want to consider adding to your list of resolutions this year.

pencil-on-the-snow-new-years-goals-for-writers

  1. Write Every Day: I usually add this goal every year, and while I don’t completely accomplish it, I do get a little closer every year. I’ve heard countless people say that in order to become a better writer, you need to practice. A lot. School, my past jobs, this blog, and the many stories I want to tell help me to write more and more every day.
  2. Write A Novel: NaNoWriMo certainly helped me meet this resolution this past year in just a single month. However, if you like to write a book more slowly, then you can pace yourself and take the entire year to finish your masterpiece.
  3. Get Published: Whether you have a short story you want to send to a writing contest or you feel ready to show your book to literary agents, be brave and take a chance at getting published. You may (will) get rejected (a lot), but keep trying and you will eventually find someone who loves your work and wants to share it with the world.

Do you have any more great New Year’s goals for writers? Share them in the comments below, on Facebook, or on Twitter.

One thought on “New Year’s Goals For Writers

Leave a Reply

