The Bookish Places on My Bucket List

I’m sorry to say that the farthest I’ve traveled away from my home in Utah is Disneyland and Yellowstone, which is why my bucket list includes plans to travel to places all over the world. And as a bookworm and writer, many of the sites I want to see are related to reading, writing, and some of my favorite books. So today I present a bucket list of places bookworms and writers would love to travel to.

Bookish Travels Bucket List

Hay-on-Wye, Wales

How would you like to visit a town where nearly every store is a bookstore? No, I’m not talking about heaven; I’m talking about a little town in Wales called Hay-on-Wye. This place is basically a mall made of bookstores, but with more charm. Some of the stores are even dedicated to a specific genre, like mysteries. And if all of this hasn’t convinced you to visit (though I find that unlikely), Hay-on-Wye also has a castle you can tour.

New York City, United States of America

Some people visit New York City to see the Statue of Liberty, watch a show on Broadway, or stroll through Central Park, but I would visit it to see the publishing houses. Several big name publishers make their home in the Big Apple, including Simon & Schuster, HarperCollins, and Penguin Random House. If you need another bookish reason to visit New York City, then check out the 18 miles of books at the famous Strand Book Store.

Globe Theatre & Stratford-upon-Avon, England

What better way to celebrate reading and writing through travel than to visit sites honoring the greatest writer of all time: William Shakespeare. If you find yourself seeking entertainment in London, then check out one of the Bard’s plays at the Globe Theatre. And if you are traveling in the West Midlands, then don’t forget to visit Shakespeare’s birthplace (and deathplace) in Stratford-upon-Avon.

Matamata (a.k.a. The Shire), New Zealand (a.k.a. Middle Earth)

J.R.R. Tolkien’s Middle Earth can come to life if you happen to be passing New Zealand in your travels. The Hobbiton movie set seen in The Lord of the Rings movies is still there, from the Green Dragon Inn to a passel of adorable little hobbit homes.

Do you know other great places for writers and bookworms to visit? If so, then tell me about them in the comments below, on Facebook, or on Twitter.

One thought on “The Bookish Places on My Bucket List

  1. This is such a cool post, you’re encouraging me to write a bookish travel bucket list sometime. I can also personally assure you that The Globe is absolutely incredible ☺

    Like

Leave a Reply

